Skip to main content

Group members announced as finalists in the 2017 Premier’s Science Awards

The Premier’s Science Awards recognise and celebrate the achievements of the Western Australian science community. Award recipients exemplify the outstanding scientific research and engagement efforts taking place in the State. The Awards cover all fields of science and is divided into four categories:

  • Scientist of the Year;
  • Woodside Early Career Scientist of the Year;
  • ExxonMobil Student Scientist of the Year; and
  • Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year.

Professor Zheng-Xiang Li was announced as a finalist for Scientist of the Year while Dr. Chris Spencer, representing Travelling Geologist, is a finalist in the Chevron Science Engagement Initiative of the Year category. More information on all of the finalists can be found on the Government of Western Australia’s webpage.

The Awards are supported by the Western Australian Government and administered by the Science and Innovation team within the Department. The winners will be announced at a ceremony on 14 August.